About the Show

March 2017

SUPERIOR DONUTS

SUPERIOR DONUTS is a comedy about the owner of a small donut shop that’s located in a quickly gentrifying Chicago neighborhood. Arthur is a gruff, to-the-point Chicagoan who refuses to sell newfangled cronuts and macchiatos or renovate his dated shop that hasn’t changed since it opened in 1969. That all changes when enterprising go-getter Franco fast-talks his way into Arthur’s life as his new (and only) employee, and convinces him that he can bring the shop – and Arthur – into the 21st century. Arthur’s supportive regulars include loyal patron Randy, a cop whose late father was Arthur’s best friend; her overeager rookie partner, James; Tush, a colorful customer who uses the shop counter as a makeshift office, where he keeps tabs on a variety of odd jobs via fax machine; Maya, a privileged grad-school student working on her Ph. D; and Sweatpants, Franco’s longtime friend who’s willing to dress as a donut to help drum up more business. Looking to cash in on the urban renewal is Arthur’s over-caffeinated neighbor, aspiring real estate capitalist Fawz, who pushes Arthur on a daily basis to sell the building to him. With his business in jeopardy, Arthur grudgingly realizes that he had better embrace the change around him and that Franco could be exactly what he – and the donut shop – need to thrive. Based on the play by Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winning writer Tracy Letts.

Premiered with a special preview Thursday, Feb. 2 (8:30-9:00 PM, ET/PT), then moved to its regular time period on Monday, Feb. 6 (9:00-9:30 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network.

ON AIR: Mondays (9:00-9:30 PM, ET/PT)

ORIGINATION: Los Angeles

FORMAT: Comedy (Filmed in HD)

STARRING:     Judd Hirsch (Arthur Przybyszewski)

Jermaine Fowler (Franco Wicks)

Katey Sagal (Randy DeLuca)

David Koechner (Carl “Tush” Tushinski)

Maz Jobrani (Fawz)

Anna Baryshnikov (Maya)

Darien Sills-Evans (James Jordan)

Rell Battle (Sweatpants)

PRODUCED BY: CBS Television Studios

EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS: Bob Daily, Neil Goldman, Garrett Donovan, Mark Teitelbaum, John R. Montgomery, Michael Rotenberg, Josh Lieberman and Jermaine Fowler

Photos are available on www.cbspressexpress.com

On the web: www.cbs.com/shows/superior-donuts

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SuperiorDonuts

Twitter: @SuperiorDonuts

Instagram: @SuperiorDonuts

Cast on Twitter:

Jermaine Fowler @jermaineFOWLER

Katey Sagal @KateySagal

David Koechner @DavidKoechner

Maz Jobrani @MazJobrani

Anna Baryshnikov @annabaryshnikov

Darien Sills-Evans @dasefatcap

Rell Battle @RellBattle

Cast on Instagram:

Jermaine Fowler @jermainefowler

Katey Sagal @kateylous

David Koechner @davidkoechner

Maz Jobrani @mazjobrani

Anna Baryshnikov @annabaryshnikov

Darien Sills-Evans @dasefatcap

Rell Battle @rellbattle

* * *

Press Contacts:

Shawna Malcom        818-655-1589    shawna.malcom@cbs.com

Lauren Grossman      818-655-7241    lauren.grossman@cbs.com

Photo Contacts:

Gaye Ann Bruno       818-655-1542     gayeann.bruno@cbs.com

Kathleen Holloway    212-975-8533     kholloway@cbs.com

Press:

Shawna Malcom
818-655-1589
shawna.malcom@cbs.com

 

CBS Television Studios:

Lauren Grossman
818-655-7241
lauren.grossman@cbs.com

 

Photo:

Gaye Ann Bruno
818-655-1542
gayeann.bruno@cbs.com

Kathleen Holloway
212-975-8533
kholloway@cbs.com