Press Release back to list
04.22.2019

WNBA AND CBS SPORTS AGREE TO MULTI-YEAR TELEVISION PARTNERSHIP

CBS Sports Network to Televise 40 Live WNBA Games Each Season

Beginning in 2019

NEW YORK – April 22, 2019 – The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) and CBS Sports announced today a multi-year partnership in which CBS Sports Network will televise live WNBA games beginning with the upcoming 2019 season.

CBS Sports Network will feature national coverage of 40 live WNBA games in primetime and on weekends, beginning on Saturday, May 25 (8:00 PM, ET), when the Minnesota Lynx host the Chicago Sky.

Record 11-time All-Star Sue Bird and the defending WNBA Champion Seattle Storm make six appearances on CBS Sports Network this season, including a WNBA Finals rematch against former league MVP Elena Delle Donne and the Washington Mystics on Friday, June 14 (7:00 PM, ET).

“Through our partnership with CBS Sports Network, the WNBA is joining an elite lineup of premium sports programming,” said NBA Commissioner Adam Silver. “We thank CBS Sports for making such a meaningful commitment to women’s basketball and for providing another platform to showcase the world-class athletes of the WNBA.”

“We are truly excited to partner with the WNBA, bringing the country’s premier women’s sports league to CBS Sports Network. This partnership is one of the biggest and most impactful women’s sports programming arrangements ever at CBS Sports, offering national exposure of 40 games per year,” said Sean McManus, Chairman, CBS Sports. “This agreement provides great live content throughout the summer in primetime and on weekends, and aligns two great brands in the WNBA and CBS Sports. We look forward to working with the WNBA for many years to come.”

The 2019 WNBA season, entering its 23rd season, tips off Friday, May 24, and features 12 teams vying for a championship, including the Atlanta Dream, Chicago Sky, Connecticut Sun, Dallas Wings, Indiana Fever, Las Vegas Aces, Los Angeles Sparks, Minnesota Lynx, New York Liberty, Phoenix Mercury, Seattle Storm and Washington Mystics.

2019 CBS SPORTS NETWORK WNBA SCHEDULE

(ALL TIMES EASTERN)

Saturday, May 25

Minnesota at Chicago

8:00 PM

Tuesday, May 28

Indiana at Connecticut

7:00 PM

Wednesday, May 29

Seattle at Minnesota

8:00 PM

Friday, May 31

Seattle at Atlanta

7:30 PM

Wednesday, June 5

Chicago at Washington

7:00 PM

Thursday, June 6

Las Vegas at Atlanta

7:00 PM

Friday, June 7

Dallas at Indiana

7:00 PM

Tuesday, June 11

Washington at Connecticut

7:00 PM

Thursday, June 13

Indiana at Dallas

8:00 PM

Friday, June 14

Seattle at Washington

7:00 PM

 

Los Angeles at Phoenix

10:00 PM

Tuesday, June 18

Washington at Los Angeles

10:30 PM

Thursday, June 20

Phoenix at Dallas

8:00 PM

 

Washington at Las Vegas

10:00 PM

Friday, June 21

Los Angeles at Seattle

10:30 PM

Tuesday, June 25

Minnesota at Indiana

7:00 PM

Thursday, June 27

Las Vegas at Los Angeles

10:30 PM

Friday, June 28

Indiana at Phoenix

10:00 PM

Saturday, June 29

Indiana at Las Vegas

10:30 PM

Tuesday, July 2

Atlanta at Minnesota

8:00 PM

Friday, July 5

Indiana at Dallas

8:00 PM

 

New York at Phoenix

10:00 PM

Wednesday, July 10

Minnesota at Chicago

9:00 PM

Friday, July 12

Dallas at Seattle

10:00 PM

Saturday, July 13

Las Vegas at Washington

7:00 PM

Friday, July 19

Washington at Indiana

7:00 PM

Wednesday, July 31

Atlanta at Indiana

7:00 PM

Thursday, August 1

Phoenix at Connecticut

7:00 PM

Thursday, August 8

Indiana at Washington

7:00 PM

Friday, August 9

Connecticut at Minnesota

8:00 PM

 

Chicago at Las Vegas

10:30 PM

Saturday, August 10

Atlanta at Indiana

3:00 PM

Wednesday, August 14

Connecticut at Phoenix

10:00 PM

Friday, August 16

Los Angeles at Chicago

8:00 PM

 

Atlanta at. Phoenix

10:00 PM

Thursday, August 22

Indiana at Los Angeles

10:30 PM

Friday, August 23

Las Vegas at Connecticut

7:30 PM

Wednesday, Sept. 4

Dallas at Connecticut

7:00 PM

Thursday, Sept. 5

Las Vegas at Atlanta

7:30 PM

 

Seattle at Los Angeles

10:00 PM

About CBS Sports Network

CBS Sports Network, the 24-hour home of CBS Sports, is widely available through all major cable, satellite and telco distributors as well as via OTT streaming service providers YouTube TV, fuboTV, PlayStation Vue, DirecTV and Hulu. Additionally, a live CBS Sports Network stream is available through CBSSports.com and the CBS Sports App by authenticating with select providers. For more information, including a full programming schedule, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com

About the WNBA

The WNBA – which features 12 teams and is the most successful women’s professional team sports league in the world – is a unique global sports property combining competition, sportsmanship, and entertainment value with its status as an icon for social change, achievement, and diversity. 

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women’s health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education. For more information about the WNBA, visit www.WNBA.com.

* * *

Media Contacts:

Harrison Raboy, CBS, 212-975-6655, harrison.raboy@cbs.com 

Dina Skokos, WNBA, 212-407-8840, dskokos@nba.com

Mike Wade, NBA, (212) 407-8690, mwade@nba.com

Press:

Harrison Raboy
212-975-6655
harrison.raboy@cbs.com